Faith.

How can you tell someone that “It’s all part of God’s plan,” when they are hurting, when they are blinded by their own pain, when they are deceived by the world’s lies?

Simple.

Faith.

I am sure that you believe it, that you’re saying it, because you have experienced it. You can never tell other people how you got addicted to an ice cream flavor, or got hooked up with a television series if you haven’t gotten a taste of it, or watched an episode or two.

Just like faith. You can’t show others how it works if you don’t know how to start, where to start.

I will be honest that I was once imprisoned by the darkness that embraces those who are empty. I didn’t believe that everything was according to plan because I don’t want to accept that I lost something, that I’m letting go of an “important” thing in my life.

I was wrong.

We are impatient. In this world, we want instant results because we try to keep up with the pace. We fear that if we don’t have it now, it’ll be gone, forever.

But have you asked yourself, “Was it meant to be mine?” Yes, maybe. Then why it’s taken away from you?

Because you are to be handed with what is truly yours. You are to be given with what you deserve. You need to see who knows what’s best for you.

Nothing in this world is ours. Your house, your car, your job, your money, even your body is not yours. Everything is God’s! Our pain, our struggles, our frustrations; He even tells us to give it all to Him, and He’ll give us rest (Matthew 11:28). Now, wouldn’t you agree to a deal like that?

I may be one of those people you heard from who says, “God has a plan for you,” or “Trust in Him. He knows what He is doing.” Then maybe, you are one of those who answered, “If that’s the case, then why am I hurting?,” or “I don’t need anybody.”

Friend, I can’t answer all of your questions. I’m human, too, you know. I feel the same emotions that you have, and I’m going through life just like everybody else. But if there’s one thing that I’m sure of, it’s that we are all children of God, and we are part of His Kingdom. He even said that He has plans for us, plans to prosper us and not harm us, plans to give us future and hope (Jeremiah 29:11). If you can handle written examinations, thesis defenses, work escalations, business rejections, and relationship denials, imagine how easy it can get when you keep in mind that a Savior died on the cross to save you, then lives again to see you succeed in life.

I know it’s hard. I know it hurts. I know it’s unfair. But self-pity and doing nothing will get you nowhere. Only God knows what will happen to you. It is a very wise decision to trust in Him, even if He only shows you a glimpse of it. He doesn’t reveal to us everything because it takes heart and a firm “Yes, Lord!” to carry out a mission from the Kingdom.

Live in faith. Live in hope. Live in Jesus Christ. Only then you will understand why you can still give thanks even though it hurts. 🙂

Leave a comment