Work’s achievement #1

I have been told not to cry over work just because it won’t love you back. I pretty much held on to it and having that mindset actually worked.

But today is not like it. Work has finally done it. It made me cry. Hooray. Achievement unlocked.

Almost 10 months here and I can say that this chapter is one of those fast-paced ones in my life. I met a lot of people, learned a lot of things, and saved more MS Excel files than I ever had in my more or less 15 years of studying.

But what weren’t taught in school were a lot of things: nerve-wracking frustrations, instant headaches, and inevitable cradling of pressure. School did not prepare me for these, though I’m glad it didn’t.

Don’t get me wrong, though. Working is fun. I enjoy learning new things almost everyday. I am happy with the people I’m working with. And I’m excited to achieve the goals that were agreed upon. It’s just that, I ask God every single day, “Why me? Why here?”

I hope I didn’t ask. (I’m kidding, by the way.) It’s always the same answer: “It has to be you. It has to be there.” Sometimes, I don’t understand. There are other people that are stronger, more aggressive, and smarter than I am. Yet, I’m the one He chose. He meticulously made up this plan only for me. As a matter of fact, when everything at work gets into me, I am always reminded that God has that faith in me that I can deliver the tasks with His help. Because if not, I’ve long quitted.

Voices were calling out to me saying that I should go, that I would be just frustrated all the time. But, how about no? First, those voices are not the boss of me. And second, my Commander, my God, still says, “Fight!” My weapon, the truth that Jesus Christ reigns over all things, is pretty much sufficient until He comes back.

I told you working is fun.
But it’s probably more fun when you know Who you are working for.

Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ. (Colossians 3:23, 24 NLT)

Leave a Reply

